A True Getaway

When people think of getting away they think of a week or weekend of R & R (Rest and Relaxation), but I have had the luxury of really getting away from it all for almost a month now. It’s like running away, but not because I know I have to go back to reality at some point. However, it’s been wonderful here. Visiting family and being able to truly unwind from the events of the last 6 months. My shoulder doesn’t hurt, I am sleeping good and eating good and for the first time in years I can relax my shoulders and body and just be a vegetable.

This has been a time of reflexion, but not to the point where I feel stressed about where I am going next because I still haven’t figured that part out and right now I don’t want to. I can choose to sleep in or get up and take the spoiled Lab Zoie to doggy day care. I can stay up late, watch movies or read, and if I want to get dressed some days I can or I can choose to stay in my pajamas all day too.  I have been spoiled rotten while I have been here. I have had a whole wardrobe make-over, new make-up, I even have learned to fix my hair a little differently and all of it has really made me feel like a new person. We have gone to dinner to different places around town, after dinner cocktails and cigars at a local cigar lounge has been one of our favorite things to do. Also we have had some wonderful meals here at home as well, with all of us chipping in to fix and clean up. We have 5 o’clock wine and cheese hour where I have tried new wines from around the world as well as share lots of laughs.

It’s amazing what a time away from your reality can do! It helps to give you a fresh perspective on your own life that sometimes a short mini vacation can not do. I realize that there are things that I need to be doing different, and should be doing different and it’s an exciting thing to think how these changes are going to be. Everyone needs the chance to step back and evaluate their life, a time where they can just find who they are again, to be free and let go of the things that aren’t so important and re-evaluate what is. It’s not as if I have had any epiphanies, but I don’t think those are necessarily required. It’s not like everything in my life has gone wrong, because it’s not. It’s just learning to get back to some of the basics such as my relationship with my husband, friends, house hold duties, and just everyday life.

I’m so blessed and lucky to have a husband who is so understanding and while sometimes I feel he is a needy person, he is really selfless when it comes to me. I have extended my stay twice now and both times he just said ok, left me know when you are coming home. He doesn’t whine, beg, or tell me no I can’t. He’s been such a support when it comes to this extended stay. I think he has finally realized that you have to check the mail to be sure that something isn’t due right away, and he’s really learned what it is to run the house, but most importantly, he hasn’t called me every 5 minutes or with every little problem. He’s letting me take care of things that I need to in my own time, and that’s something not every husband would do, or even put up with. I am looking forward to going home most of all to be with him.

I realize that we need to get back to the basics just with the two of us. We used to be able to spend many weekends alone doing stuff together and yet we have allowed ourselves to be surrounded by people almost every day of each weekend. That isn’t healthy for a relationship because than you depend on others to keep us entertained. Don’t get me wrong, I love to entertain and have company, but I need to learn to say no more often. There are so many things that we could be doing as a couple and yet we don’t. It’s like we are missing life by being afraid to deviate from the normal weekend routine. We need to learn to balance our activities, friends, and time together better.

Being away I realize that I haven’t been keeping up on the 52 weeks of me project, but that’s ok. I will pick it up again and I don’t think I am going to try to catch up. I think that the project has been really good, but I have also made this last month all about me in my own way and I think that has been much more important. In fact I really have kept a distance from being on the computer at all! I have my new phone that brings me Facebook updates and all that, but I don’t feel that I have had to respond to each and every one, and I have only logged onto an actual computer 2-3 times. There are some things that I have needed to weed myself away from and the computer is one of them. It’s a device that can suck the life out of you because we spend so much time on it doing really things that aren’t really all that important.

So for now I am going to sign off, the only reality thing that I need to do today is pay the bills….how fun is that, but thankfully I have another week and a half before I have to re-enter my life as I known it, but I know that it won’t be the same, it will be a new and improved Holly going back to California, I just hope everyone is prepared for that!

Leave a Reply

